2019 Festival Award Winners

The 2019 West Waterford Drama Festival Adjudicator, Geoff O'Keeffe, a member of the Association of Drama Adjudicators, in his summary of this year's West Waterford Drama Festival, thanked the audience for their support and attendance and said that the audience in Ballyduff is the envy of many festivals around the country. He thanked the 10 participating groups, who brought their stories to the stage with such professionalism and aplomb, and especially acknowledged the work of the back stage crews, who are, he said "the life and backbone of the festival circuit". He was full of praise for the Ballyduff  and the organising committee for their hard work and commitment, something the community should be very proud of.

In the Open Section it was a good night for local groups as Brideview Drama group from Tallow claimed first place with their production of Brian Friel's "Philadelphia Here I Come", with Ballyduff Drama Group coming second, and Wexford Drama Group coming third. In the Confined Section it was the West Cork group Skibbereen Theatre Society taking top marks with Martin McDonagh's "The Beauty Queen of Leenane" and Kilworth Dramatic Society taking second.


Open Competition Results
Best Play: Philadelphia Here I Come (Brian Friel) - Brideview Drama Group
Best Producer: Jack Ahearne - Brideview Drama Group
Best Actor: Michael Dunbar in Kilrush's "Steward of Christendom"
Best Actress: Valerie O'Leary in Ballyduff's "A Fine Bright Day Today"
Best Supporting Actor: Sean Ahern in Brideview's "Philadelphia"
Best Supporting Actress: Helen Ahearne in Brideview's "Philadelphia"
Confined Competition Results
Best Play: The Beauty Queen of Leenane (Martin McDonagh) - Skibbereen Theatre Society
Best Producer: Ger Minihan - Skibbereen Theatre Society
Best Actor: Brian Carey in Kilworth's "Unforgiven"
Best Actress: Hannah McNinen in Kilmuckridge's "The Righteous are Bold"
Best Supporting Actor: Josh Campbell in Skibbereen's "Beauty Queen"
Best Supporting Actress: Patricia Coughlan in Kilworth's "Unforgiven"
General Results
Best Set: Ballyduff (A Fine Bright Day Today)
Best Presentation: Ballyduff (A Fine Bright Day Today)
Best Lighting: Wexford (Rabbit Hole)
Most Entertaining Play: Kilworth (Unforgiven)
Golden Moment of Theatre: Nenagh (For their opening sequence)
Adjudicator's Awards: John Stack & Kris Cowming in Brideview's "Philadelphia" and Singing of Ave Maria by Niall Keogh from Kilrush.
Seamus Aherne Memorial Award for Best New Performer: Michael O'Gorman in Wexford's Rabbit Hole


40th West Waterford Drama Festival
Friday 4th March to 12th March 2022. Check out the festival line up and a synopsis of the plays being performed.

Bookings: On 058 60456 from Monday 21st February 2022 - 2pm - 8pm

Festival Ticket prices:
Nightly tickets are €15 and concessions €10
Season Tickets are €90 and includes Festival Programme


If using Sat Nav, be careful when inputting. There are at least three Ballyduffs in County Waterford. In particular, there is a village called Ballyduff about five miles from Waterford City. This is not us! Coordinates 52° 08' 51" N, 8° 03' 06" W will get you pretty near the correct Ballyduff! more


About The Festival

Since 1981, West Waterford Drama Festival is held in Ballyduff during March. Over three decades of dramatic excitement, community endeavour, investment in friendship and sheer good fun. All driven by an ethos of volunteerism, community and good humour. more

Supported by Waterford City &
County Council's Arts Festivals Grants